Deep spots, bloating and squishy orange #2s


Only read this post if you have, or someone you know has any of the following symptoms:

  • Deep spots on your buttocks and thighs
  • Bloated, gurgling stomach with lots of wind, top and bottom
  • Soft, slimy orange stools

These symptoms crept up on me over a period of about eight years in the order above. I wish I’d known where this was heading in the first couple of years because it would have saved me a lot of discomfort and allowed me to sleep better (without the bloating).

It all got too much for me 18 months ago. Sleep was becoming less and less attainable because of the discomfort in my bowels. Distended stomach, lots of burping and farting and three or four trips to the toilet every day to squeeze out…well, you get the idea. I went and saw my GP who referred me to a dietician. To cut a long story short, I went onto the FODMAP diet, an 8 week detox of eating only meat and rice and potatoes and almost nothing else. Ab-so-lute-ly miserable but I stuck it out. After 8 weeks, I gradually introduced banned foods back in one by one and recorded the effect. The result…wheat is the culprit. Somehow over the years, my digestive tract has developed wheat-intolerance.

I now avoid wheat as much as possible and it is great that all of the above symptoms have gone but I really, really miss croissants, nutty brown bread, cakes, sandwiches. It could have been worse.

It irritates me that some are dismissing people like me as ‘faddy’ or suffering from some psychosomatic but I feel great now so I can ignore their nonsense.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

